Thanks for the award!

 


 

What is the speed limit on base?

Where can I find out how to.......?

Who do I see to....?

How much is...?

So many important new details to figure out so we are here to help! Take a few minutes to browse through some of the information we think is valuable for you to know upon arrival in Colorado Springs.

**The Air Force Academy's telephone prefix and DSN prefix are the same--  333.

**Colorado has an Vehicle Emission Inspection program.  Yearly testing is required for vehicles 1981 and older, every 2 years for vehicles 1982 and newer.  New cars are exempt for four years or until change of ownership.  Emissions test (if required, dependant on age of vehicle) must be current before vehicle can be registered on base.  Vehicles must be registered within 72 hours of arrival, by visiting the Visitor Center in Bldg 1820.  Be prepared to show your proof of insurance, registration, and driver's license.

**Only the North Gate is open to those without DOD ID.

**For information on delays due to snow, call the AFA Road Conditions Hotline--  333.2800

**Drivers are not allowed to use their cell phones while at the Academy unless they are parked or using a hands free unit.

**Colorado weather is about the craziest you will find.  Snowfall one day and 70 degrees the next....be prepared for anything! 

**There is a cadet run radio station at 97.7 FM

**Active Duty Members and their spouses may not be required to obtain a Colorado Driver's License as per Colorado Statute.  Contact the Colorado Driver's License Bureau for clarification:

C.R.S. 42-2-102 (1997)

(1) The following persons need not obtain a Colorado driver's license:. . .

  1. A nonresident on active duty in the armed forces of the United States if that person has in his or her possession a valid driver's license issued by such nonresident's state of domicile or, if returning from duty outside the United States, has a valid driver's license in his or her possession issued by the armed forces of the United States in foreign countries, but such armed forces license shall be valid only for a period of forty-five days after the licensee has returned to the United States;

(e) The spouse of a member of the armed forces of the United States who is accompanying such member on military or naval assignment to this state, who has a valid driver's license issued by another state, and whose right to drive has not been suspended or revoked in this state.

 

Neither the Department of the Navy Air Force, Army, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, nor any other component
of the Department of Defense has approved, endorsed, or authorized this site.
The information on our Whiteman AFB, Buckley AFB, F.E. Warren AFB, Peterson AFB, Schriever AFB, Hill AFB, Luke AFB, Cheyenne Mountain Air Station,
The Air Force Academy, Ellsworth AFB, Minot AFB, Nellis AFB, and Fort Carson sites was obtained through public sources and the author's personal experience.

Site Map         Privacy Policy
1997-2012 - ACE Design Studio. All rights reserved.
Any questions or comments may be directed to the webmaster